YouTube Is The New Basic Cable

Samantha
3 min readNov 30, 2021

I remember about 15 years ago, I would struggle to figure out where to get my news played in the morning.

My favorite thing to do first thing in the morning is turn on the news and discover what new things happened while I slept.

That might be dorky but that’s a crucial part of my morning routine.

Today, I was talking to my 15 year old as I turned to my favorite app to look for some of my favorite news videos. I suddenly realized that my habit of turning to YouTube for my news was so normal that it felt like the days of when I would turn on basic cable to “catch” the news.

I remember a time even further than 15 years ago, simply turning on the TV as a young girl and the news would be right there. There wasn’t a cable box. These were the days that I lived with my grandmother who (along with my Mom), instilled a love for keeping up with the news and current events.

My grandmother’s TV in Alabama simply had antennas behind it that you’d have to adjust every now and then to get a clearer picture. But, nothing else. No cable boxes, routers or anything else to watch my favorite shows.

Now, we have YouTube.

For now, YouTube is free for basic viewing. YouTube has essentially become the new basic cable. You don’t have to pay for it, unless you…

--

--

Samantha

Mompreneur. Writer. Web & Graphics Designer. Activist. Entrepreneur. CEO. Black in Tech. Educator. Millennial. Seeker of Truth. World Topics Discussed in Black