The #MeToo Movement Had to Happen, The Oppression of Others Is Never Ok

Samantha
6 min readOct 19, 2017

I have been sexually harassed my entire life, including throughout my childhood and my entire career.

I was sexually harassed so much that I began to think it was normal and would inevitably become a way of life for me in the workplace.

Watching Harvey Weinstein’s fall from grace is both shocking and a relief to me. For days, I have stayed quietly in the background as I read the headlines of Weinstein’s sexual harassment claims unfold. I watched victim after victim come forward. But, up until now, I thought I would only remain a spectator.

The #MeToo movement feels eerily like a White Women’s Feminist Movement. A movement that I never feel is right for me to join because although we are all women, my struggle isn’t the struggle of a non-Black woman.

I find that Black voices are either drowned out or silenced altogether when Black people partner with other races. Our goals are never met and the original purpose for our movement becomes a distant memory as the agenda of other races takes center stage.

--

--

Samantha

Mompreneur. Writer. Web & Graphics Designer. Activist. Entrepreneur. CEO. Black in Tech. Educator. Millennial. Seeker of Truth. World Topics Discussed in Black