Malcolm and Marie: An Honest Review From a Black Woman

Samantha
6 min readMar 18, 2021

****Spoiler alert!****

If you haven’t seen the movie “Malcolm and Marie” and you don’t want to know what happened in the movie, especially the ending, then stop reading now.

Netflix has a new movie out called Malcolm and Marie. I have to be honest, I had no real interest in watching this movie until I read a few reviews that indicated that Marie was this victim and that the movie was really about the abuse Marie endured from Malcolm.

A white man wrote that review. And this made me question his perspective.

The reviews I read indicated that Marie was the sole victim and Malcolm was the aggressor in their relationship.

Pretty cliche if you ask me.

I felt there had to be more to a movie that went through the trouble of getting two huge actors, Zendaya and John David Washington, son of Denzel Washington, to play in this dramatically black and white movie.

Due to some of the reviews that stated the movie was basically about Marie being an abuse victim, I purposely waited for some time to watch the movie. I felt that the movie would trigger my own emotional trauma from years of enduring verbal and physical abuse from a past relationship.

--

--

Samantha

Mompreneur. Writer. Web & Graphics Designer. Activist. Entrepreneur. CEO. Black in Tech. Educator. Millennial. Seeker of Truth. World Topics Discussed in Black