Happy Malcolm X Day: Celebrating an African American Icon and Hero

Samantha
4 min readMay 19, 2017

Malcolm X was born May 19, 1925 in Omaha, Nebraska. During his short years on this Earth, he made a great impact on millions of lives.

Today, Malcolm X, would have been 92. He was assassinated February 21, 1965 at the young age of 39 leaving behind a wife and 6 daughters.

Malcolm X was one of the first autobiographies I have read from cover-to-cover. I remember reading “The Autobiography of Malcolm X: as Told to Alex Haley”. I felt like Malcolm X and I had a lot in common in our way of thinking. The things he would say, I felt came straight from my mind. His fearlessness in fighting against White Supremacy and racism matches my fearlessness.

“By any means necessary!”

Malcolm X was an unapologetic Black man. His father followed Marcus Garvey and instilled Marcus Garvey’ beliefs into his children, including Malcolm X.

--

--

Samantha

Mompreneur. Writer. Web & Graphics Designer. Activist. Entrepreneur. CEO. Black in Tech. Educator. Millennial. Seeker of Truth. World Topics Discussed in Black